Latest Announcement
<June 2024>

Administrative Setup

The state was formed with 18 districts, which were formerly part of south Bihar. Some of these districts were reorganised to form 6 new districts, namely, Latehar, Saraikela Kharsawan, Jamtara, Sahebganj, Khunti and Ramgarh. Presently, the state has 24 districts:Ranchi, Lohardaga, Gumla, Simdega, Palamu, Latehar, Garhwa, West Singhbhum, Seraikela Kharsawan, East Singhbhum, Dumka, Jamtara, Sahebganj, Pakur, Godda, Hazaribag, Chatra, Koderma, Giridih, Dhanbad, Bokaro, Deoghar, Khunti and Ramgarh. One interesting things about Jharkhand, Most of district touches with any other states border but only Lohardagga and Khunti districts which is not touched with any border.

Largest Cities in Jharkhand
(2011 Census of India estimate)
Rank City District Population Rank City District Population
01 Jamshedpur East Singbhum, Seraikela Kharsawan 1,337,131 06 Phusro Bokaro 186,139
02 Dhanbad Dhanbad 1,195,298 07 Hazaribagh Hazaribagh 153,599
03 Ranchi Ranchi 1,126,741 08 Giridih Giridih 143,529
04 Bokaro Steel City Bokaro 563,417 09 Ramgarh Ramgarh 132,441
05 Deoghar Deoghar 203,116 10 Daltonganj Palamu 119,972